Welcome to Bhutan

We are Buddha’s Nation!


Bhutan is a small country of great beauty and strategic importance situated between India and China in Asia. It covers an area of about 1 700 sq km. Bhutan begins in the South in a salt and gravel plain and semitropical forests next to India and climbs north to the highest mountain range in the world on the border with Tibet and China.


Bhutan is a term that the people of India used to describe the whole of the region around the Himalaya mountains, including Tibet. It adjoins Bhutan in the North. When the  Bhutanese talk to with each other about their country, they call it “Druk-Yul” (Kingdom of Bhutan). It’s capital is Thimphu. THe official language is Dzongkha (a Tibetan dialect). Buddhism is the predominant religion in Bhutan. THe State religion is the Drukpa Subsect of Kagyupa. In the South, the Hindus are in the majority. Ngultrum is the basic unit of money. Its population is 1 532 000 (1988 estimates). Thimphu and Phuentsholing are the cities.


Bhutan is famous for its beautiful temples, wall paintings, wood carvings and metal work. Bamboo and basket weaving is a popular craft.


The Bhutanese enjoy singing, dancing and festivals. Songs are often accompanied by musical instruments such as flute, the drum, and a seven stringed instrument called the dramuyen.


The national sport of Bhutan is archery. Soccer, basketball, volleyball, tennis, badminton, table tennis, shot put, and wrestling are popular also..


Barely, fruit, rice and vegetables are the principal products. Blankets, leatherwork, pottery are favoured handicrafts


Only 18 percent of the adult population is literate. There is only one general hospital but there are 19 specialized hospitals, and 50 basic health units. There are no railroads.


Bhutan is a constitutional monarchy with a King and a national Assembly. There are 150 members in the assembly. The legislature consists of 100 representatives elected for 3 years. A 9 member Royal Activity council established in 1965 is always in session to advise the King to monitor the National Assembly.


In the judicial system, the High country has six judges. District courts have judges appointed among government workers. The country is divided into 17 districts. There are no political parties..

Bhutan became a member of the United Nations in 1971.

Website Design by A&A Associates